Page is loading...
Ministry of Environment of the Republic of Lithuania
Menu is loading...
svetainės medis email print lietuviškai


The list of the country’s natural resources is getting longer


Last year 22 new sites were included in the list of the country’s sites of geological importance that are protected or to be protected, the so-called geotops. The majority of these sites (17) consist of springs. They include two St. John’s (Paplatelė and Uogučiai) springs, Vaškis, Jakubauskas, Vaitkus, Dirda, Žaltakalnis, Knygnešiai and Mačernis path sources in the Žemaitija National park, the Skiručiai spring in the Dubysa Regional Park, the Lukštai, Mažeikiai, Panemunys and Raminta springs in Rokiškis district, the Čiegis spring in Zarasai district, the Jaskoniškės spring in Sartai Regional Park, and the Dūburys spring in the Dūburys Hydrographic Reserve (Zarasai district). The list of geotops was supplemented with two boulders, which have not been registered before, in the district of Joniškis, namely, the Stone of Brothers and the Petraičiai Stone, and one large hill, the Pratkūnai Hill in the Pratkūnai Geomorphological Reserve (Zarasų district).

It is been twenty years, i. e. since 1995, that geotops have been examined and registered by the Lithuanian Geological Survey under the Ministry of Environment. They are registered in the Geotops subsystem of the State Geological Information System. Now, this subsystem contains information about 597 geological, geomorphological, hydro-geological and hydrographic natural heritage sites, namely, 138 springs, 97 exposures, 2 peaks, 13 hollows, 54 hills, 15 ravines and suffosion cirques, 13 dunes, one cave, 12 ridges, 19 boulder sites, 175 boulders and 10 boulder expositions, 6 islands and peninsula, 10 quarry walls, 11 sinkholes, 9 spring-influenced meadows, and 12 continental dunes.

Geotops are identified by carrying out state geological mapping and obtaining information from research organisations, individual nature researchers and conservators. Major assistance in the process is provided by the directorates of protected areas.

Public Information Division
9 February 2015

Minister of Environment of Lithuania Kęstutis Navickas
Minister of Environment of Lithuania Kęstutis Navickas