Page is loading...
Ministry of Environment of the Republic of Lithuania
Menu is loading...
svetainės medis email print lietuviškai


Lithuania ratifies Paris Agreement


Following the ratification of the Paris Agreement on Climate Change by the Seimas, Lithuania has joined the ranks of world countries that have already ratified the accord that is very important for the whole humanity.

‘I am pleased with this decision of the Seimas’, says Minister of Environment Kęstutis Navickas, ‘as the ratification of the Paris Agreement confirms Lithuania’s resolve to combat climate change together with the whole world community. The Ministry of Environment is aware of the challenges that await our country in implementing the obligations laid down in this Agreement. This is hard and complicated work, and we will take leadership in this sphere’.

Now Lithuania has become the 119th world country and the 19th EU member state to ratify the Paris Agreement approved by 195 countries at the Paris Climate Conference in December 2015.

With a view to implementing the obligations provided for in this Agreement, our country is determined to introduce state-of-the-art, environmentally friendly technologies in industry as broadly as possible, promote investments in the development of renewable energy resources, increase energy efficiency, develop sustainable agricultural production, renew the transport sector, reduce pollution and use other measures for fulfilling the tasks defined in the National Strategy for Climate Change Management Policy.

Abiding by the solidarity provisions set out in the Paris Agreement, Lithuania will, together with other developed states and in accordance with the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, on a voluntary basis provide financial support to developing countries for mitigating climate change.

The legally binding, universal Paris Agreement on Climate Change that sets out a global action plan on how to avoid the dangerous effects of climate change will come into force in 2020 and replace the Kyoto Protocol.

Communication Division

Minister of Environment of Lithuania Kęstutis Navickas
Minister of Environment of Lithuania Kęstutis Navickas